Thursday, June 2, 2016

Straight Chatting from the Library: Lauren Sabel


This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Lauren will be awarding $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.

READ THE INTERVIEW


What is the favorite book you remember as a child?

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

What is your favorite book today?

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Tell us about your current book in 10 words.

17-year-old psychic spy Callie Sinclair must stop the events in her visions before disaster strikes.

What are you reading right now?

The Lightning Queen by Laura Resau

What books do you have on hold at the library?

Renegade by Debra Driza
In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis

Do you have any bad book habits?

I read half a book, lose it somewhere in my house, and then start another one.

E-Reader or print? and why?

I like print books better than e-readers, and yet I read on my e-reader a lot, mostly because I can download all of the books in one place and carry them with me when I travel. With ebooks, I don’t read only half of a book and then lose it in my house as often; but right now I’ve misplaced my kindle so I’ve lost all of my books. :-( Keep your fingers crossed that I find it.

One book at a time or multiples?

Multiples

Dog-ear or bookmark? (don't worry—Librarian Judith won't hold it against you—much)

Dog-ear.

Least favorite book you've read this year?

Anything on parenthood.

Favorite book you've read this year?

There are so many I can’t decide.

When do you do most of your reading?

I used to read outside on a hammock, and I loved every second of it. But now I have kids, and since I usually read after they’ve gone to sleep, most of my reading takes place in my bed. (Or on airplanes.)

Favorite place to read?

Hammocks.

Favorite genre?

Young adult.

Do you loan your books?

Yes. Actually, I more like force them on my friends by telling them a dozen times why they must read that particular book and mentioning that I have it in my possession.

Favorite book to recommend?

Secret Garden.

How do you keep your books organized?

In my head, by topic. In my house, by luck.

Re-reader or not?

Yes, I definitely reread, because the first time you read a book is just about taking in the story. The second time is about learning how the author wrote the story.

What would make you not finish a book?

If the first 50 pages didn’t grab my attention, I’ll never get through it, even if I have heard it becomes a great read at page 100.

Keep books or give them away?

When I love a book, I always keep it. Sorry.

READ THE BLURB


These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

READ AN EXCERPT


These are the basic facts about me:

I am 17.

I live in San Francisco.

I work for a secret governmental agency.

I spend many hours a day out of my mind.

I am a psychic spy.

MEET THE AUTHOR


Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Website: AND http://liesiliveby.com/
Blog: http://laurensabel.tumblr.com
Twitter: laurensabel
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/author.laurensabel/ AND https://www.facebook.com/LIES-I-LIVE-BY-1060641787289541
Instagram: laurensabel AND liesiliveby

Buy LIES I LIVE BY at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or IndieBound.
Buy VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD at Amazon or Barnes and Noble.


ENTER THE GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

26 comments:

  1. Congrats on the new book and good luck on the book tour!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Many writers describe themselves as "character" or "plot" writers. Which are you? What do you find to be the hardest part of writing?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Really sounds like a great story.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great interview, glad to know I'm not the only one that loses books and starts something else! lol..I thought it was just me :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's definitely not just you! I do it all the time.

      Delete
    2. I have a whole bunch of books on my TBR right now for this exact reason haha :)

      Delete
  5. Sounds like a great read, thank you for the interesting interview!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have added this book to my TBR list and look forward to reading this book!

    ReplyDelete
  7. The book sounds very intriguing, looking forward to reading it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I enjoy the book blurb, sounds like a great read. Entering under the name of Virginia

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hope you are having a fabulous weekend! Looking forward to reading this book!

    ReplyDelete

  10. Sounds great,thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  11. looks interesting! where do you pull inspiration from?

    ReplyDelete
  12. Excellent interview! Excited to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Came to wish you a happy monday! :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Hope I'll have a chance to read the book soon!

    ReplyDelete
  15. What is the name of your favorite restaurant?

    ReplyDelete
  16. sounds like a fun one!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I really enjoyed reading your interview, thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Sounds like a great read. Entering under the name of Virginia

    ReplyDelete
  19. I was really enjoying following this tour, thank you for all the great blog posts and excerpts!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I have enjoyed learning about the book. Thanks for sharing it.

    ReplyDelete
  21. I would like to thank you for the interview and the excerpt! This looks like it's gonna be a great book and I want to thank you for the giveaway! I wish you good luck and a lot of success with this and all of your future work! <3

    ReplyDelete