Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Straight Chatting from the Library: Character Interview with Madison Knight


This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Carolyn will be awarding $25.00 USD via PayPal International to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter, as well as 1 hardcover of Ties That Bind to another randomly drawn winner and 1 paperback copy of Ties That Bind to one more randomly drawn winner - all via rafflecopter. These are available to the US, Canada, and the UK during the tour.

READ THE CHARACTER INTERVIEW


Can you tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Madison Knight, and I’m a major crimes detective for Stiles PD. People have told me that I’m like a dog with a bone with it comes to solving murders and that if they were murdered, they’d want me on their case. I’m the only female in my department and I report to Sergeant Winston, who can be a little antiquated in his viewpoint toward women. I don’t take kindly to his attitude and we butt heads a lot of the time.

I’m paired with a male partner, Terry Grant, and we’ve become like a brother and sister to each other. Our personalities and viewpoints complement each other and I’d like to think this leads us to solving murders more quickly than some other partnerships within the department.

As for how I deal with the drama of the job, what I see daily, and the people I come across, well, I turn to chocolate, namely Hershey’s bars. They’re zero calories on a bad day. *wink*

What is your role in the story?

I’m the main character.

What is your favorite hobby?

Who has time for hobbies? I’m pretty much married to my job, but when I have downtime I enjoy spending it with my friend Cynthia Baxter who heads up the forensics department, Hershey, my chocolate lab, and my love interest… More about him soon.

What is the challenge you are trying to overcome in the story?

Commitment in a relationship has been an issue for me since I was engaged in my early twenties to a man who turned out to be a cheater. I’ve dated men since, of course, but any time the relationship started to get serious at all, I’d end things. Less chance of getting hurt that way.

But now… Well, I have a good one. His name is Troy Matthews and he’s a SWAT officer and works at Stiles PD as well. He’s about as hardheaded as me and he’s determined to stick with our relationship. His persistence has won me over and I’ve even said “I love you.” Whoa! For me… trust me, that’s is a “whoa”. To my further surprise, I even think about our relationship progressing to marriage at some point and it doesn’t terrify me.

With our friend and fellow officer shot down in the line of duty, though, it’s taxed our relationship. Troy was childhood friends with the officer and he’s taking his death very hard. As a result, he’s pushing people away—including me. It has me questioning whether opening myself up to being vulnerable is worth the heartache.

And needless to say, I’ll need to work through my own grief to be focused enough to find my fellow officer’s killer. Usually, I prefer to rush headlong into things. I might have a partner, but I’m not averse to acting on my own when I see fit. With this investigation, though, it’s different and I’m starting to see the power in working as a team.

If you had one wish, what would it be?

That there were no murders, and, yes, I know that would put me out of a job, but seeing the pain in the eyes of loved ones left behind… It tears me down.

I’d also love to reconcile with my mother… But tell anyone that and I’ll kill you. Let’s put this off the record. Anyway, the problems in our relationship are plenty but the main one is her dislike for my being a cop. Of course, she has her reasons for that, but I wish she could just overlook them to see that being a detective is something I’m meant to be.



READ THE BLURB FROM BOOK 2: JUSTIFIED


It’s Christmastime, and this year murder doesn’t take a holiday. The killing of a woman leads detective Madison Knight in many directions to find a killer. Book 2 in the series.

Madison Knight should have ignored the call. Now she is spending Christmas Eve dealing with her least favorite thing…blood and lots of it.

When a female victim is found in her home, it has Madison and her partner tapping into the vic's personal life.  With a rash of former business partners and lovers, all of whom wanted her dead, there are not enough hours to question them all.

  But trying to find the person who had the most motive isn't all that's on Madison's mind.  As she struggles to establish balance in her own life, she knows she has to get her focus back.  Justice requires it.

READ AN EXCERPT


He had to do it. He had no choice. Pushed into an unpleasant corner, he had no other option. How could he allow himself to be walked all over, manipulated? All that he had sacrificed for her, laid on the line.

It was pitch black, the wind moaned and small flakes dared to precipitate. It was a bitter cold, the type he felt through to his bones.

He knocked on the door.

He had chosen the back side of the house for added seclusion. If the cover of the night wasn’t enough, surely this approach would diminish the possibility of a curious neighbor trying to play the hero. He didn’t need any cops showing up. This was to be a private visit.

He knocked again, harder and more deliberate. A light came on inside followed by one on the back porch. Finally, he was getting some attention.

She opened the door the few inches the chain would allow. “What are you doing here?”

“Trying to reason with you.” The chills left his body and a calm, radiant heat overtook him.

The door shut. The chain rattled. The door reopened. “You can’t just show up whenever you feel like it.” She let him in, more likely for her own comfort given the way she was dressed. Arms crossed in front of her chest, an act of modesty over a lacy piece of lingerie. He had seen it before. Shivers trembled through her, and she gripped her arms tighter. “What is it?”

He disregarded the tone in her voice, the condescending overture it carried. He ignored the body language that screamed for him to leave. He went to touch a ribbon that served as a strap.

She stepped back. “Please don’t—”

“Claire, we’re meant to be together.” His lack of control surprised him; his voice had risen in pitch with each word.

“You should leave.”

There was more to her words. And the way she was dressed. “You move on already?” He took steps forward, heading for her bedroom.

She grabbed his arm and pulled him back. She didn’t deny his accusation, and she refused to look at him when she did speak. “It was your choice. I gave you the option.”

He swore her eyes misted over. “Not really much of one.”

“You should go.”

He shook his head as if it would bury the jealousy. But the fact there was someone else here, lying in her bed, waiting on her to come back…

He would do what he came to do—regardless. He had too much to lose.

MEET THE AUTHOR


CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:

Website - http://carolynarnold.net/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Carolyn_Arnold
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolynArnold

And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, Blue Bloods, Rizzoli & Isles, Women’s Murder Club, and Hawaii Five-O.
,BR> Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/McKinley-Mysteries-10-Book/dp/B0185RCLG0?ie=UTF8&redirect=true&ref=series_rw_dp_labf
Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/%22Detective Madison Knight Series%22;jsessionid=12D53804BD435A2F2E755B6E568E4590.prodny_store02-atgap06?Ntk=P_Series_Title&Ns=P_Series_Number&Ntx=mode+matchall
iBooks https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/ties-that-bind/id441096550?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4
Kobo https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/search?query=Detective%20Madison%20Knight%20Series&fcsearchfield=Series&seriesId=b3af2eed-1592-5c7d-9dec-e8e58f0368ef

You can also visit the author’s McKinley Mysteries Series page: http://carolynarnold.net/detective-madison-knight-series/

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

A hero has fallen, and hard-edged detective Madison Knight will stop at nothing short of finding justice—even if it means risking her own life.

Released 9.26.16

For more information, visit http://carolynarnold.net/in-the-line-of-duty.

18 comments:

  1. If you could have played a part in a classic movie, which part would have been perfect for you and why?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, I'm not an actress--at all. I find it hard to hide the way I'm feeling. As for classic movies, though, I do love "An Affair to Remember". (Don't tell anyone, though...)

      Delete
  2. congrats on the tour, enjoyed the excerpt, and thanks for the chance to win :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great post, thanks for sharing the excerpt!

    ReplyDelete
  4. What do you find to be the most challenging part of writing? And the most rewarding?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The most challenging would have to be rewriting after a developmental edit comes back from my editor. The most rewarding is receiving emails from readers who love my work and knowing that at most times of the day and night someone, somewhere in the world is reading one of my books.

      Delete
  5. The insight into Madison is interesting!

    --Trix

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Trix. I had fun interviewing her.

      Delete
  6. What is the best book that you have read recently? Thanks for the giveaway. I hope that I win. Bernie W BWallace1980(at)hotmail(d0t)com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good luck on winning, Joseph.

      I just read "The Whistler" by John Grisham. Good book.

      Delete
  7. I really enjoyed reading your interview, thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thank you for hosting as part of the IN THE LINE OF DUTY tour.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Shared on G+ to help spread the word, have a great day! :)

    ReplyDelete